“The Porsche among IT providers.” SEAK at Mey – Interview with Patricia Bodmer, Retail Operations Manager

Mey Store Mainz

“The Porsche among IT providers.” SEAK at Mey – Interview with Patricia Bodmer, Retail Operations Manager

“The Porsche among IT providers.” SEAK at Mey – Interview with Patricia Bodmer, Retail Operations Manager 1000 664 Workforce Management im Handel | SEAK Software GmbH

Selling lingerie not only requires a high level of time-investment to provide consultation, but is also often an “intimate matter” between the saleswoman and her customer. A high-quality “shopping experience” in this case is not created by frequency-oriented workforce planning alone, but ideally ensures that the right saleswoman is on the sales floor at the right time. SEAK’s software supports Mey’s specialist shops with this.

Mey, in Albstadt, is a living family tradition since 1928. The company, which was founded at the time as a contract knitting shop, today stands for internationally sought-after women’s and men’s underwear, lingerie and swimwear (men) with premium standards.

Most of the fabrics are made in their own knitting factory in Germany. Above all, the finest, highest quality cotton varieties in the world are used, including organic cotton from Peru, which is picked and sorted entirely by hand and without the use of defoliants and requires significantly less water than in other regions of the world.

In addition to the highest ecological standards, value is placed on fair production conditions. Most of the products are assembled in a fully integrated production facility in Germany and Europe.

Mey started their own retail business in 2010. Today there are 22 stores, seven factory outlet centers and two multi-label stores (in Mainz and Salzburg). The IT solutions for time management and workforce planning in the Mey branches come from SEAK Software and were introduced in April 2019. In an interview, Patricia Bodmer, Retail Operations Manager at Mey, takes stock.

“It quickly became clear that SEAK is something like the Porsche of this market segment.”

Patricia Bodmer, Retail Operations Manager

What challenges did Mey Retail face when introducing the SEAK software?

Patricia Bodmer: We still used Excel tables or manually conducted staff scheduling, time recording and budget planning. It couldn’t go on like this any longer. After all, there were already 22 stores with around 150 employees. Everything was too time-consuming, too non-transparent and too prone to errors.

How did you come into contact with SEAK Software and why did you choose this provider?

Bodmer: That happened very quickly. Of course, we checked out several solutions and providers in the market. It quickly became clear that SEAK is something like the Porsche of this market segment.

Which processes have you been able to optimize?

Bodmer: Four to six employees work in our shops, which are up to 100 square meters in size. Their schedules are controlled by the store manager. When planning, they now see the staff availability on every day and at every hour much more easily and clearly.

Budget planning was also massively refined. Before, we had a monthly plan. Now there is a budget for every day. This is possible, among other things, because the SEAK system specifically calculates the frequency forecasts and the appropriate hourly budgets for each of the different days.

There are further simplifications that make the holiday planning process particularly clear.

Mey Store Cologne
Mey Store Cologne

How do you go about budget planning?

Bodmer: Planned sales are specified by the Head of Retail. This provides a target for an individual store or team. The planned turnover per day is decisive for the number of sales assistants to be planned.

The system makes it possible to better understand the strengths and weaknesses of employees and to substantiate them with numbers.

The store manager, who is responsible for staff scheduling, can now deploy staff more specifically depending on their strengths in individual areas such as sales, merchandising or side-jobs such as goods clearance.

“The system makes it possible to better understand the strengths and weaknesses of each employee and to substantiate them with numbers.”

Patricia Bodmer, Retail Operations Manager

Was there any resistance to the introduction of the software?

Bodmer: Yes, there was. At first there was perhaps the impression that those in the HQ wanted to exercise more control. But the SEAK system is very transparent and also enables us to schedule employees more easily on the days and times that they themselves prefer.

We also exercise a more just rotation now in terms of deploying on unpopular days or times. The working atmosphere and team spirit are even stronger now.

Can the improvements be expressed in numbers?

Bodmer: Productivity in the area is increasing. However, it is hardly possible to attribute improvements to a single factor. For example, we train our employees regularly and intensively on site so that they have already worked at the highest level as lingerie specialist salespeople.

How has communication with the teams developed since the software was introduced? Are there any topics that you could not discuss before or that lacked supportive data?

Bodmer: The increased data transparency makes discussions easier. In addition, when there is potential for improvement, it is now more visible and easier to address. In addition, we have a better grip on overtime.

Mey Store Salzburg
Mey Store Salzburg

To what extent does SEAK software help improve the customer’s shopping experience?

Bodmer: The system notifies us, among other things, about days and times when a team would be under-staffed and unable to achieve a planned turnover. We then schedule additional staff. In such a service-intensive business, automated notifications like these, are indispensable in order to offer the ideal shopping experience.

What is your opinion on the SEAK employee service portal, with which employees have the opportunity to take care of processes such as holiday requests, booking corrections, etc. and can find out about the current status of their requests, time balances and holiday status at any time.

Bodmer: It’s well received as a tool that enables employees to self-organise more. We use all functions. So far, it can only be accessed from the cash register. As a next step, we also want to give employees access from their smartphones.

What is your experience with SEAK support?

Bodmer: Smooth, quick, uncomplicated.

And your opinion on factors such as reliability, adherence to deadlines, and competence?

Bodmer: Stay as you are.

Is there any experience in particular that stands out for you since the beginning of your collaboration with SEAK Software?

Bodmer: The initial training courses when the system was introduced. They were quite perfect.

Did anything surprise you?

Bodmer: Yes. We were introduced step by step to the functional scope of the system in an intelligent way.

What would you describe as “typically SEAK”?

Bodmer: SEAK is demanding – in a positive sense. Just like today’s customers in retail. I needed a software partner just like that.

We thank Patricia Bodmer for the interview. The interview was conducted by trade journalist Bruno Reiferscheid.

Read more success stories here >

Photos © Mey Handels GmbH, Cover image: Mey Store Mainz

    Your name *

    Company *

    E-Mail *

    Your message *


    Optional information


    The following information is voluntary. This information helps us to better respond to your request and to answer it in a targeted manner.


    I am interested in the following topics:
    Time ManagementStaffing Requirements PlanningStaff SchedulingMobile Solutions – SEAK TEAMS®Access ControlSEAK MAG 2021 (PDF)

    Sector

    Number of employees

    Number of stores / departments


    Would you like us to call you back?


    Yes, please call me back on the following date:
    TodayMon.Tue.Wed.Thu.Fri.MorningAfternoon

    Telephone

„Der Porsche unter den IT-Anbietern.“ SEAK bei Mey– Interview mit Patricia Bodmer, Retail Operations Manager

Mey Store Mainz

„Der Porsche unter den IT-Anbietern.“ SEAK bei Mey– Interview mit Patricia Bodmer, Retail Operations Manager

„Der Porsche unter den IT-Anbietern.“ SEAK bei Mey– Interview mit Patricia Bodmer, Retail Operations Manager 1000 664 Workforce Management im Handel | SEAK Software GmbH

Der Verkauf von Lingerie und Dessous ist nicht nur beratungs- und bedienungsintensiv, sondern oft auch eine „intime Angelegenheit“ zwischen Verkäuferin und Kundin. „Einkaufserlebnis“ bedeutet hier deshalb nicht nur eine frequenzorientierte Personaleinsatzplanung, sondern im Idealfall sogar die genau richtige Verkäuferin zur richtigen Zeit auf der Verkaufsfläche. In den Fachgeschäften von Mey unterstützt die Software von SEAK dabei.

Mey, Albstadt, das ist gelebte Familientradition seit 1928. Das seinerzeit als Lohnwirkerei gegründete Unternehmen steht heute für international begehrte Damen- und Herrenwäsche, Dessous und Swimwear (Herren) mit Premium-Anspruch.

Ein Großteil der Stoffe wird in einer eigenen Strickerei in Deutschland hergestellt. Zum Einsatz kommen vor allem feinste, hochwertigste Baumwollsorten der Welt, darunter Bio-Baumwolle aus Peru, die vollständig per Hand und ohne den Einsatz von Entlaubungsmitteln gepflückt und verlesen wird und deutlich weniger Wasser benötigt als in anderen Regionen der Welt.

Neben höchsten ökologischen Standards legt man Wert auf faire Produktionsbedingungen. Konfektioniert wird überwiegend in einem vollstufigen Produktionsbetrieb in Deutschland und Europa.

Im Jahr 2010 startete Mey mit eigenem Retail. Heute zählt man 22 eigene Geschäfte, sieben Factory Outlet Center und zwei Multilabel-Stores (Mainz und Salzburg). Die IT-Lösungen für Zeitwirtschaft und Personaleinsatzplanung der Mey-Filialen stammen von SEAK Software und wurden im April 2019 eingeführt. Im Gespräch zieht Patricia Bodmer, Retail Operations Manager bei Mey, eine Zwischenbilanz.

„Dabei war schnell klar, dass SEAK so etwas wie der Porsche in diesem Software-Markt ist.“

Patricia Bodmer, Retail Operations Manager

Vor welcher Herausforderung stand Mey Retail bei Einführung der Software von SEAK?

Patricia Bodmer: Personaleinsatzplanung, Zeiterfassung und Budgetplanung erfolgten immer noch per Hand bzw. mit Excel-Tabellen. Das ging so nicht mehr weiter. Schließlich waren es schon 22 Stores mit rund 150 Mitarbeiterinnen. Alles war zu zeitaufwendig, zu intransparent und zu fehleranfällig.

Wie kam der Kontakt zu SEAK Software zustande und wie fiel die Entscheidung für diesen Anbieter?

Bodmer: Das ging recht schnell. Wir haben natürlich den Markt sondiert und uns dann die Lösungen von drei Software-Anbietern angesehen. Dabei war schnell klar, dass SEAK so etwas wie der Porsche in diesem Software-Markt ist.

Welche Prozesse konnten Sie optimieren?

Bodmer: In unseren Geschäften, die bis zu 100 Quadratmeter groß sind, arbeiten vier bis sechs Mitarbeiterinnen. Deren Einsatz wird von der Store-Leiterin gesteuert. Bei der Planung sieht diese jetzt wesentlich einfacher und übersichtlicher die Verfügbarkeit des Personals an jedem Tag und zu jeder Stunde.

Auch die Budgetplanung konnte massiv verfeinert werden. Zuvor hatten wir eine Planung auf Monatsbasis, jetzt gibt es ein Budget für jeden Tag. Das ist unter anderem deshalb möglich, weil das SEAK-System für die unterschiedlichen Tage gezielt die Frequenzprognosen und die dafür angemessenen Stundenbudgets berechnet.

Weitere Vereinfachungen gibt es bei der Urlaubsplanung, die besonders übersichtlich ist.

Mey Store Köln
Mey Store Köln

Wie gehen Sie bei der Budgetplanung vor?

Bodmer: Der Planumsatz wird vom Head of Retail vorgegeben. Das ist die Zielvorgabe für einen Store bzw. für das Team. Der Planumsatz je Tag ist entscheidend für die Zahl der einzuplanenden Verkäuferinnen.

Das System macht es möglich, Stärken und Schwächen der Mitarbeiterinnen besser zu verstehen und mit Zahlen zu belegen.

Die Store-Leiterin, als Verantwortliche für die Einsatzplanung, kann nun das Personal je nach seinen Stärken gezielter für die einzelnen Bereiche wie Verkauf, Merchandising oder Arbeiten wie Ware räumen einsetzen.

„Das System macht es möglich, Stärken und Schwächen der Mitarbeiterinnen besser zu verstehen und mit Zahlen zu belegen.“

Patricia Bodmer, Retail Operations Manager

Gab es Widerstände bei Einführung der Software?

Bodmer: Ja, die gab es. Anfangs war da vielleicht der Eindruck, dass die in der Zentrale vor allem mehr Kontrolle ausüben wollten. Aber das System von SEAK ist sehr transparent und ermöglicht es zudem, mehr und einfacher als zuvor die Mitarbeiterinnen an den von ihnen bevorzugten Tagen und Uhrzeiten einzusetzen.

Wir haben jetzt auch mehr Gerechtigkeit hinsichtlich des Einsatzes an eher unbeliebten Tagen oder Uhrzeiten. Das Betriebsklima und das Miteinander sind deshalb jetzt noch besser als zuvor.

Lassen sich die Verbesserungen in Zahlen ausdrücken?

Bodmer: Die Produktivität auf der Fläche steigt. Es ist allerdings kaum möglich, Verbesserungen auf einen einzelnen Faktor zurückzuführen. Beispielsweise schulen wir unsere Mitarbeiterinnen vor Ort regelmäßig und intensiv, so dass sie als Lingerie- und Dessous-Fachverkäuferinnen auch schon zuvor auf höchstem Niveau gearbeitet haben.

Wie hat sich seit der Einführung der Software die Kommunikation mit den Teams entwickelt? Gibt es Themen, über die sie zuvor überhaupt nicht oder nur auf unzureichender Datenbasis diskutieren können?

Bodmer: Die verbesserte Datentransparenz erleichtert die Gespräche. Zudem werden Verbesserungspotenziale sichtbar, über die wir dann reden. Hinzu kommt, dass wir das Thema Überstunden besser im Griff haben.

Mey Store Salzburg
Mey Store Salzburg

Inwiefern ist die Software von SEAK ein Beitrag zur Verbesserung des Einkaufserlebnisses der Kunden?

Bodmer: Das System weist unter anderem darauf hin, wenn für einen Planumsatz zu wenig Personal eingeplant wurde und damit das Team auf der Fläche den Plan gar nicht erfüllen kann. Dann wird zusätzliches Personal eingeplant. In einem so bedienungsintensiven Business sind solche automatisierten Hinweise unabdingbar, um das ideale Einkaufserlebnis zu bieten.

Ein Wort zum Mitarbeiter Service Portal von SEAK, mit dem das Personal die Möglichkeit hat, sich selbst um Vorgänge wie Urlaubsanträge, Buchungskorrektur etc. zu kümmern und sich jederzeit über den aktuellen Stand seiner Anträge, Zeitsalden und Urlaubsstände informieren kann.

Bodmer: Als Werkzeug für mehr Selbstorganisation für den Mitarbeiter kommt das gut an. Wir nutzen alle Funktionen. Der Zugang erfolgt bislang über die Kasse. Als nächsten Schritt wollen wir den Mitarbeiterinnen aber auch den Zugriff über das Smartphone ermöglichen.

Wie sind Ihre Erfahrungen mit dem SEAK-Support?

Bodmer: Reibungslos, schnell, unkompliziert.

Und Ihr Urteil über Faktoren wie Zuverlässigkeit, Termintreue, Kompetenz?

Bodmer: Bleibt, wie ihr seid.

Ist Ihnen etwas Besonderes in der bisherigen Zusammenarbeit mit SEAK Software im Gedächtnis geblieben?

Bodmer: Die Schulungen bei Einführung des Systems. Die waren perfekt.

Hat Sie etwas überrascht?

Bodmer: Ja. Wie wir auf intelligente Weise step by step an den Funktionsumfang des Systems herangeführt wurden.

Was ist für Sie „typisch SEAK“?

Bodmer: SEAK ist anspruchsvoll – im positiven Sinne. So wie die heutigen Kunden im Handel. Da brauche ich einfach so einen Software-Partner.

Wir bedanken uns bei Patricia Bodmer für das Interview. Das Interview wurde von Handelsjournalist Bruno Reiferscheid geführt.

Mehr Success Stories lesen >

Fotos © Mey Handels GmbH, Titelbild: Mey Store Mainz

Ihr Name *

Firma *

E-Mail *

Ihre Nachricht *


Freiwillige Angaben


Die folgenden Angaben sind freiwillig. Diese Angaben helfen uns, besser auf Ihre Anfrage einzugehen und sie zielgerichtet zu beantworten.


Ich bin an folgenden Themen interessiert:
ZeitwirtschaftPersonalbedarfsplanungPersonaleinsatzplanungMitarbeiter Service Portal (MSP)Mobiler Dienstplan (MDP)Team Performance Monitor (TPM)Zutrittskontrolle

Branche

Anzahl MitarbeiterInnen

Anzahl Filialen / Niederlassungen


Wünschen Sie einen Rückruf?


Ja, bitte rufen Sie mich zum folgenden Zeitpunkt an:
HeuteMo.Di.Mi.Do.Fr.VormittagNachmittag

Telefon