„The software solutions are extremely retail-oriented.” SEAK at Globetrotter – Interview with Omid Soltani, Manager for Workforce Management

Globetrotter Cologne

„The software solutions are extremely retail-oriented.” SEAK at Globetrotter – Interview with Omid Soltani, Manager for Workforce Management

„The software solutions are extremely retail-oriented.” SEAK at Globetrotter – Interview with Omid Soltani, Manager for Workforce Management 1000 668 Workforce Management im Handel | SEAK Software GmbH

On why the outdoor specialist has been using SEAK Software IT tools for staff scheduling and time management since 2006. And how the company reduces bureaucracy for both managers and the HR department, by promoting self-organisation for employees.

Globetrotter – that is one of the really big names in German outdoor retail. In 1979 the company was founded in Hamburg as “Northern Germany’s first specialist shop for expeditions, safaris, survival, trekking”. With its at times spectacularly staged adventure shopping worlds, Globetrotter has since become one of the largest outdoor retailers in Europe.

Sustainability is an important part of the company’s DNA. It comes with a strong commitment to nature and the environment as well as efforts to ensure fair working conditions in the global supply chain, improving their “ecological footprint” and an increase in the proportion of organic products.

As the central marketing tool, the Globetrotter magazine provides information and reports on all aspects of travel, equipment and the outdoors. It is sent out quarterly with a circulation of around 400,000 copies.

Globetrotter’s online shop offers more than 35,000 products from over 1,000 brands. The company (part of the Swedish Fenix Outdoor International) currently operates 16 branches across Germany. Including the logistics and shipping facilities in Ludwigslust, the company employs around 1,100 people.

Globetrotter works with IT partner SEAK Software in the areas of staff scheduling and time management.

Rather exceptionally, this partnership goes as far back as 2006. Omid Soltani has been on board since the beginning. Initially in the Product Service / QM / HR Administration & Projects department, he is now responsible for retail at Globetrotter as manager for Workforce Management. We asked the expert a few questions.

Omid Soltani Globetrotter
Omid Soltani, Manager Workforce Management Retail at Globetrotter

What convinced Globetrotter to work with one and the same software partner for staff scheduling and time management for 14 years?

Omid Soltani: The SEAK philosophy. It is strongly geared towards customer satisfaction. The SEAK management takes great interest in ensuring that everything runs smoothly. That’s why both managing directors, Andreas Knüpfer and Patrick Rogalski, are personally available for discussions. That is remarkable.

The software solutions are completely trade-oriented. I know a lot of other providers. But nobody has the breadth and depth of the people who work at SEAK.

About staff scheduling á la SEAK software: who works with this solution at Globetrotter and what are your experiences?

Soltani: Staff scheduling is done by our sales units managers, who are the department heads of individual stores. The system is indispensable when it comes to planning the right number of employees at the right time in the right place, equipped with the right knowledge and at the optimal cost-level.

With its analysis functions and plan / actual comparison, the software promotes clarity and simply enables better decisions. That helped us a lot after the takeover by the Swedish Fenix group, because our parent company attaches great importance to numbers-driven corporate management. That’s why we need a system like the one SEAK Software offers.

In addition to the full versions of staff scheduling, time management and access control, you have been working with the SEAK Employee Service Portal, ESP, since 2018. What problems did you aim to solve with the ESP?

Soltani: There are indeed some points that have been resolved with the introduction of the Employee Service Portal, such as the paperwork and the associated folder management, confusion with holiday requests, booking entries and corrections, as well as hour corrections.

Who applied when for what and was it approved? At some point it became very difficult to keep track of things. Insufficient transparency in terms of staff scheduling, working hours, free time or days off or absences – all of that is now a thing of the past.

Globetrotter Stuttgart
Globetrotter Stuttgart

What are the benefits for you?

Soltani: The employee service portal is completely web-based and makes taking care of all those time-consuming processes such as holiday requests, forgotten bookings, plan corrections and enquiries about the time balance or holiday status easier and faster.

Time recording, requests, the approval workflow, etc. – how many of the available functions do you use?

Soltani: We use the employee service portal more and more. We aim to make use of all its functions.

This gives employees the opportunity to take care of many processes themselves – even via smartphone. Requests are approved by the supervisor and the relevant data are automatically transferred to time management.

With the employee service portal, employees can also find out about the current status of their applications, time balances and holiday status at any time. This way of self-organisation relieves managers and the HR department.

What do the employees say?

Soltani: At first people were skeptical. But we took the time to introduce and establish the system, and after various training courses, employee satisfaction with it has made a big leap forward.

Why is this so important to you?

Soltani: Happy and satisfied employees are the best employees. To ensure satisfaction, you have to involve them as much as possible in processes that affect them personally. This requires digital tools such as the employee service portal.

Globetrotter Munich
Globetrotter Munich

Are you considering any next steps regarding this topic?

Soltani: Yes. SEAK’s mobile duty roster for our employees’ smartphones and tablet PCs.

What do you aim to achieve with this tool?

Soltani: It offers employees location- and time-independent access to their schedules, which makes the time-consuming communication of paper-based duty rosters and plan changes redundant. When looking for a replacement, the team leaders can immediately see which employee is available.

We want to introduce the mobile duty roster this year.

What other plans do you have?

Soltani: We want to invest in the SEAK Team Performance Monitor. I tested the system myself a few years ago. It’s even better now.

What are your expectations for it?

Soltani: This solution will help us identify the current position of the company in relation to its goals, to the previous year or other comparison parameters. With just two or three clicks, for example, you can see the key figures, and their development compared to the plan or previous year.

This is information that can usually only be obtained with great effort. SEAK makes these processes easily accessible.

Is there anything you would recommend for fellow retailers, especially during these recent times?

Soltani: Invest in software support that enables leaner processes, frees up valuable time and ensures more transparency at all hierarchical levels. It’s worth it.

We thank Omid Soltani for the interview. The interview was conducted by retail journalist Bruno Reiferscheid.

Read more success stories here >

Photos © Globetrotter Ausrüstung GmbH / Omid Soltani / redgunski – Michael Neumann
Cover image: Globetrotter Cologne

    Your name *

    Company *

    E-Mail *

    Your message *


    Optional information


    The following information is voluntary. This information helps us to better respond to your request and to answer it in a targeted manner.


    I am interested in the following topics:
    Time ManagementStaffing Requirements PlanningStaff SchedulingMobile Solutions – SEAK TEAMS®Access ControlSEAK MAG 2021 (PDF)

    Sector

    Number of employees

    Number of stores / departments


    Would you like us to call you back?


    Yes, please call me back on the following date:
    TodayMon.Tue.Wed.Thu.Fri.MorningAfternoon

    Telephone

„Die Softwarelösungen sind extrem handelsorientiert.“ SEAK bei Globetrotter – Interview mit Omid Soltani, Manager Workforce Management

Globetrotter Köln

„Die Softwarelösungen sind extrem handelsorientiert.“ SEAK bei Globetrotter – Interview mit Omid Soltani, Manager Workforce Management

„Die Softwarelösungen sind extrem handelsorientiert.“ SEAK bei Globetrotter – Interview mit Omid Soltani, Manager Workforce Management 1000 668 Workforce Management im Handel | SEAK Software GmbH

Warum der Outdoor-Spezialist bereits seit 2006 die IT-Werkzeuge von SEAK Software im Bereich Personaleinsatzplanung und Zeitwirtschaft nutzt. Und wie das Unternehmen in punkto Bürokratieabbau die Selbstorganisation der Mitarbeiter fördert und dabei sowohl Vorgesetzte als auch die Personalabteilung entlastet.

Globetrotter – das ist einer der ganz großen Namen im deutschen Outdoor-Handel. 1979 wurde das Unternehmen in Hamburg als „Norddeutschlands erstes Spezialgeschäft für Expeditionen, Safaris, Survival, Trekking“ gegründet. Mit seinen teils spektakulär inszenierten Erlebniseinkaufswelten ist Globetrotter seit dieser Zeit zu einem der größten Outdoor-Händler in Europa geworden.

Wichtiger Teil der Unternehmens-DNA ist Thema Nachhaltigkeit. Damit verbunden ist sowohl der Einsatz für Natur und Umwelt als auch Bemühungen um faire Arbeitsbedingungen in der globalen Lieferkette, die Verbesserung des „ökologischen Fußabdrucks“ sowie die Erhöhung des Ökoprodukte-Anteils.

Zentrales Marketing-Tool ist das Globetrotter-Magazin mit Informationen und Reportagen rund um die Themen Reisen, Ausrüstung und Outdoor. Die Zeitschrift wird vierteljährlich in einer Auflage von rund 400.000 Exemplaren verschickt.

Im Online-Shop bietet Globetrotter mehr als 35.000 Artikel von über 1.000 Marken an. Deutschlandweit betreibt das Unternehmen (gehört zum schwedischen Fenix Outdoor International) aktuell 16 Filialen. Inklusive Versand am Logistik-Standort Ludwigslust werden rund 1.100 Mitarbeiter beschäftigt.

In den Bereichen Personaleinsatzplanung und Zeitwirtschaft arbeitet Globetrotter mit dem IT-Partner SEAK Software.

Ungewöhnlich: Diese Partnerschaft existiert bereits seit dem Jahre 2006. Schon damals mit „an Bord“ war Omid Soltani, seinerzeit im Bereich Produktservice / QM / HR Administration & Projekte und heute als Manager Workforce Management verantwortlich für Retail bei Globetrotter. Fragen an den Experten.

Omid Soltani Globetrotter
Omid Soltani, Manager Workforce Management Retail bei Globetrotter

Wie kommt es, dass Globetrotter seit nunmehr 14 Jahren mit ein und demselben Software-Partner im Bereich Personalplanung und Zeitwirtschaft arbeitet?

Omid Soltani: Das liegt an der SEAK-Philosophie. Die ist extrem auf Kundenzufriedenheit ausgerichtet. Die SEAK-Geschäftsführung hat ein sehr großes Interesse, dass alles reibungslos läuft. Deshalb sind auch die beiden SEAK-Chefs Andreas Knüpfer und Patrick Rogalski für mich persönlich ansprechbar. Das ist bemerkenswert.

Die Softwarelösungen sind extrem handelsorientiert. Ich kenne viele andere Anbieter. Aber in Breite und Tiefe hat keiner so viel Wissen wie die Menschen, die bei SEAK arbeiten.

Ein Wort zur Personaleinsatzplanung á la SEAK Software. Wer arbeitet bei Globetrotter mit dieser Lösung und wie sind Ihre Erfahrungen?

Soltani: Die Einsatzplanung ist Aufgabe der Sales Units Manager. Das sind die Abteilungsleiter in den Filialen. Das System ist unverzichtbar, wenn es darum geht, jederzeit mit der richtigen Anzahl an Mitarbeitern zur richtigen Zeit am richtigen Ort, ausgestattet mit dem richtigen Wissen und zu den richtigen Kosten zu planen.

Mit seinen Analysefunktionen und Plan/Ist-Abgleich fördert die Software Klarheit und ermöglicht einfach bessere Entscheidungen. Das hat uns nach der Übernahme durch den schwedischen Fenix-Konzern sehr geholfen. Denn unsere Muttergesellschaft legt Wert auf eine zahlengetriebene Unternehmenssteuerung. Deshalb brauchen wir ein System wie das von SEAK Software.

Zusätzlich zu den Vollversionen der Personaleinsatzplanung, Zeitwirtschaft und Zugangskontrolle arbeiten Sie seit 2018 mit dem Mitarbeiter Service Portal, MSP, von SEAK. Welches Problem sollte damit gelöst werden?

Soltani: Da gibt es in der Tat einige Punkte, die sich mit der Einführung des Mitarbeiter Service Portals gelöst haben, wie beispielsweise die Zettelwirtschaft und die dazu gehörende Ordnerverwaltung, Unübersichtlichkeiten bei Urlaubsanträgen, Buchungskorrekturen, Buchungserfassung, Stundenkorrekturen.

Wer hat wann was beantragt und was wurde genehmigt? Irgendwann wurde es sehr mühsam, den Überblick zu behalten. Unzureichende Transparenz in punkto Personaleinsatzplanung, Arbeitszeiten, Freizeit bzw. freie Tage oder Abwesenheiten – das alles ist jetzt Vergangenheit.

Globetrotter Stuttgart
Globetrotter Stuttgart

Welchen Nutzen bringt Ihnen das?

Soltani: Das Mitarbeiter Service Portal ist komplett webbasiert und macht die ganzen zeitaufwendigen Vorgänge wie Urlaubsanträge, vergessene Buchungen, Plankorrekturen und Nachfragen nach dem Zeitsaldo oder dem Urlaubsstand einfacher und schneller.

Zeiterfassung, Anträge, Genehmigungsworkflow etc. – wie viele der Funktionen nutzen Sie?

Soltani: Das Mitarbeiter Service Portal wird immer mehr in Anspruch genommen. Wir wollen alle Funktionen nutzen.

Die Mitarbeiter haben damit die Möglichkeit, sich um viele Vorgänge selbst zu kümmern – sogar per Smartphone. Die Anträge werden von den Vorgesetzten genehmigt und entsprechende Daten automatisch in die Zeitwirtschaft übernommen.

Mit dem Mitarbeiter Service Portal kann sich der Mitarbeiter außerdem jederzeit über den aktuellen Stand seiner Anträge, Zeitsalden und Urlaubsstände informieren. Diese Form der Selbstorganisation entlastet Vorgesetzte und Personalabteilung.

Was sagen die Mitarbeiter dazu?

Soltani: Anfangs waren sie skeptisch. Doch wir nahmen uns genügend Zeit für die Einführung und Etablierung des Systems. Nach diversen Schulungen haben wir einen großer Sprung nach vorn in punkto Mitarbeiterzufriedenheit gemacht.

Warum ist Ihnen das so wichtig?

Soltani: Glückliche und zufriedene Mitarbeiter sind die besten. Dafür muss man sie so weit wie möglich in Prozesse einbinden, die sie selbst persönlich betreffen. Dafür braucht es digitale Tools wie das Mitarbeiter Service Portal.

Globetrotter München
Globetrotter München

Gibt es rund um dieses Thema so etwas wie den nächsten Schritt?

Soltani: Ja. Der Mobile Dienstplan von SEAK auf Smartphones oder Tablet-PCs der Mitarbeiter.

Was wird das bringen?

Soltani: Der orts- und zeitunabhängige Zugriff der Mitarbeiter macht die zeitaufwändige Kommunikation von Dienstplänen und Planänderungen überflüssig. Bei der Suche nach Ersatz wird den Teamleitern angezeigt, welcher Mitarbeiter zur Verfügung steht.

Wir wollen den Mobilen Dienstplan noch im laufenden Jahr einführen.

Welche weiteren Pläne haben Sie?

Soltani: Wir wollen in den Team Performance Monitor von SEAK investieren. Ich selber hatte das System vor einigen Jahren schon einmal getestet. Jetzt ist es noch besser.

Was versprechen Sie sich davon?

Soltani: Diese Lösung trägt dazu bei, die aktuelle Position des Unternehmens in Relation zu den Zielen, zum Vorjahr oder in anderen Vergleichen zu erkennen. Mit nur zwei, drei Klicks sieht man beispielsweise die zentralen Kennzahlen, deren Entwicklung zum Plan oder zum Vorjahr.

Das sind Informationen, die sonst meist nur mit großem Aufwand gewonnen werden können. SEAK macht diese Prozesse besonders einfach.

Gibt es eine Empfehlung, die Sie anderen Händlern in der aktuellen Situation geben können?

Soltani: Investieren Sie in Softwareunterstützung, die schlankere Prozesse ermöglicht, Zeitressourcen freisetzt und für mehr Transparenz auf allen Hierarchieebenen sorgt. Es lohnt sich.

Wir bedanken uns bei Omid Soltani für das Interview. Das Interview wurde von Handelsjournalist Bruno Reiferscheid geführt.

Mehr Success Stories lesen >

Fotos © Globetrotter Ausrüstung GmbH / Omid Soltani / redgunski – Michael Neumann
Titelbild: Globetrotter Köln

Ihr Name *

Firma *

E-Mail *

Ihre Nachricht *


Freiwillige Angaben


Die folgenden Angaben sind freiwillig. Diese Angaben helfen uns, besser auf Ihre Anfrage einzugehen und sie zielgerichtet zu beantworten.


Ich bin an folgenden Themen interessiert:
ZeitwirtschaftPersonalbedarfsplanungPersonaleinsatzplanungMitarbeiter Service Portal (MSP)Mobiler Dienstplan (MDP)Team Performance Monitor (TPM)Zutrittskontrolle

Branche

Anzahl MitarbeiterInnen

Anzahl Filialen / Niederlassungen


Wünschen Sie einen Rückruf?


Ja, bitte rufen Sie mich zum folgenden Zeitpunkt an:
HeuteMo.Di.Mi.Do.Fr.VormittagNachmittag

Telefon