„In our field, this software is unrivalled.“ SEAK at CAMP DAVID | SOCCX – Interview with Michael Erdmann

Michael Erdmann

„In our field, this software is unrivalled.“ SEAK at CAMP DAVID | SOCCX – Interview with Michael Erdmann

„In our field, this software is unrivalled.“ SEAK at CAMP DAVID | SOCCX – Interview with Michael Erdmann 1000 700 Workforce Management im Handel | SEAK Software GmbH

The SEAK approach in action at CAMP DAVID | SOCCX fashion stores: how to successfully harmonise business targets, employee requirements and customer expectations in fashion retail.

The CLINTON Großhandels-GmbH is an owner-managed fashion company based in Hoppegarten near Berlin. Their menswear label CAMP DAVID and the womenswear label SOCCX, make it one of the most important companies for casual and sportswear in German-speaking countries. The more than 250 retail stores in Germany are managed both independently and by their partners.

Michael Erdmann controls a total of around 60 shops with an area of 100 to 1,000 square meters each. Erdmann brings experience from the fast food industry into his work, where topics such as optimised staff scheduling or benchmarking of stores or locations have top priority. Looking for an IT partner who could support him with these and other tasks in his expanding fashion business, Erdmann chose SEAK Software. We asked the fashion manager a few questions.

How did you get in touch with SEAK Software?

Michael Erdmann: We had previously tested two other systems for time recording and staff scheduling. We came across SEAK on the internet and got in touch. Then we were shown the IT solution.

Choosing SEAK was easy after that. This was partially because the software reflects my own considerations regarding optimised staff requirements planning and time management. Until then, I had only worked on an Excel basis.

SEAK goes much deeper, takes more details into account and offers significantly better control options.

Which problems did you plan to solve using SEAK software?

Erdmann: Above all, we wanted to achieve greater legal clarity and conformity in our time management. The time recording and integration of these data for wages and salaries was previously very tedious. Working hours were recorded manually by each branch manager and sent to HQ via fax at the end of the month. Of course, this procedure was prone to errors and very time-consuming for everyone involved.

Today, working hours are electronically recorded and processed into the system by the employees themselves. Controlling and correcting bookings is carried out by two entities: our branch managers and the HR office. The time required is minimal after an initial period of getting used to. It is no longer necessary to transmit data in the form of tables or lists. But SEAK offers more: time recording and staff requirements planning from a single source.

The hourly data for balances and absences, such as holidays or training, are included in the planning procedure. We initially needed a little time and patience before we could benefit from the advantages in efficiency, because working with the system is quite complex. But now considerably less effort goes into all these processes than before.

CAMP DAVID & SOCCX store | www.seak.de
CAMP DAVID & SOCCX store

How have processes and procedures changed as a result?

Erdmann: SEAK software enables smarter, faster and more efficient processes and procedures. None of the branch managers use paper and pen anymore for staff scheduling – only the SEAK system. Requirements planning for a branch can be completed in 20 minutes.

We have standardised the processes for creating plans. By adhering to a structured procedure for shift planning, the branch manager reduces time spent on this task by 80 to 90 percent. The procedure looks like this:

1. Employees submit requests for holidays entirely through the system. After approval by the HR office, the dates are saved in the system.

2. Employees also carry out absence planning for specific days off, training measures etc.

3. Since preferred working times, functions and hourly balances are all available in the system, the branch manager can now use automatic planning to create the shift rota.

How are employee wished addressed better now?

Erdmann: Productivity is much easier to plan, control and monitor. It is not our aim to save costs, but to optimise them. In some branches, this means, for example, planning even more staff on high-turnover days. The software also contributes to a much better communication with the branch managers.

How do you organise staff scheduling processes with the SEAK software?

Erdmann: The starting point is your planned turnover, which is available for every day and every branch. A distinction is made between strong and weak days. I do the basic planning and create a kind of template, which is supplemented by the HR office with information on holidays, etc. and filled in by the branch manager. They can do this manually or use SEAK’s automated suggestions.

Before working with SEAK, I created sample shift rotas for each branch. Of course, that wasn’t as fine-tuned as it is now with the SEAK software. In addition, I was only able to control the implementation selectively for a few branches and could not react to changes as quickly. Frequency analysis has only become possible since using SEAK.

Are there any topics that you are now able to discuss with branch managers on a basis of deeper understanding after introducing SEAK?

Erdmann: Definitely. Many things can now be discussed better because we simply have more clarity. There is, for example, the issue of the number of staff present before stores open in the morning. In the past, it was often decided according to a “gut feeling” and calculated on a rule of thumb basis. Now the scheduled number of staff clearly matches actual requirements more accurately. Another topic is Saturday as the weekday with the highest sales.

By providing us with numbers that are based on several factors, SEAK found that we had by no means exhausted the customer frequency and thus our sales potential on Saturdays. We therefore used even more staff hours on these days. Initially, the employees had the impression that their branch was overstaffed. However, the measure’s effectiveness was confirmed by an increase in sales on the days that already saw the highest sales.

How has your employees’ workday changed? What does your team have to say about the SEAK software solution?

Erdmann: The workload on Saturdays is now distributed much more fairly. This change is just as popular as having an overview of your own working hours. Everyone can access these at the click of a mouse. The system is really very transparent. Therefore, from the beginning there was minimal resistance to the introduction of SEAK.

How do you measure the success of your investment in IT solutions from SEAK Software?

Erdmann: SEAK software is actually unrivalled for companies in our industry and has become indispensable for us. I myself now only work with SEAK, especially since data from the ERP or cash register can also be used for staff scheduling.

Which evaluations do you watch most closely?

Erdmann: Plan / actual comparisons. In the SEAK solution, they are shown in a particularly clear and simple format, provide an excellent communication platform with branch managers and help me improve the planning quality.

You also use the Team Performance Monitor (TPM). This software from SEAK aims to make services and potentials visible at a glance, to benchmark departments and regions, and to demonstrate achievements and deviations from goals. What is your impression after working with it?

Erdmann: The diagrams in the TPM are optically very well organised. I use the system primarily for an overview of the development of important key figures such as hourly turnover, items per receipt or average receipt, as well as for researching the causes of significant changes and identifying further potential.

What does the TPM essentially do?

Erdmann: It provides a meta-level overview for comparing branches over development periods, including a traffic light function. We can optimally configure the evaluations to meet our needs and, for example, easily recognise which employees need further training.

The SEAK principle aims to harmonize the goals of companies, employee requirements and customer expectations, such as service, availability of goods and consultations. How does this translate to actual experience? Does it work?

Erdmann: Definitely. The system is designed to not simply reduce costs, but to optimize the use of resources in all areas. The most important goal is greater customer satisfaction. The corresponding key figures show that it works.

What is your experience with hotline support from SEAK?

Erdmann: Very good. However, I now rarely need to use it.

What is the SEAK spirit to you according to your experience with our sales, support, consulting and training teams?

Erdmann: It’s the enthusiasm for the system. I share it. In a conversation with the SEAK management in Reinbek, I also found that people at SEAK are definitely interested in exchanging experiences and that the permanent improvement of the software is a top priority for them.

What surprised you the most when using the SEAK solution?

Erdmann: The complexity of the system. Ultimately, however, this exactly reflects the complexity of the processes and relationships in our business. This means that we do not need any further IT solutions in this area.

What are your plans for the future?

Erdmann: We want to expand further. SEAK software supports us in this. That is why we have now introduced the system in all 250 retail stores.

We would like to thank Mr. Michael Erdmann for the interview. This interview was conducted by retail journalist Bruno Reiferscheid.

Read more success stories here >

Photos © CLINTON Großhandels-GmbH

    Your name *

    Company *

    E-Mail *

    Your message *


    Optional information


    The following information is voluntary. This information helps us to better respond to your request and to answer it in a targeted manner.


    I am interested in the following topics:
    Time ManagementStaffing Requirements PlanningStaff SchedulingMobile Solutions – SEAK TEAMS®Access ControlSEAK MAG 2021 (PDF)

    Sector

    Number of employees

    Number of stores / departments


    Would you like us to call you back?


    Yes, please call me back on the following date:
    TodayMon.Tue.Wed.Thu.Fri.MorningAfternoon

    Telephone

• 6. November 2018

„Als Software für unsere Branche konkurrenzlos“. CAMP DAVID & SOCCX – Interview mit Michael Erdmann

Michael Erdmann Fa CLINTON | CAMP DAVID & SOCCX | www.seak.de

„Als Software für unsere Branche konkurrenzlos“. CAMP DAVID & SOCCX – Interview mit Michael Erdmann

„Als Software für unsere Branche konkurrenzlos“. CAMP DAVID & SOCCX – Interview mit Michael Erdmann 900 617 Einsatzplanung + Zeitwirtschaft im Handel: SEAK Software GmbH

Das SEAK-Prinzip im Einsatz in den Fashion-Stores von „CAMP DAVID“ und „SOCCX“: Wie es gelingt, Ziele von Unternehmen, Ansprüche der Mitarbeiter und Erwartungen der Kunden im Modehandel in Einklang zu bringen.

Die CLINTON Großhandels-GmbH ist ein inhabergeführtes Modeunternehmen mit Sitz in Hoppegarten bei Berlin. Mit dem Menswear-Label CAMP DAVID und dem Womenswear-Label SOCCX gehört es zu den bedeutendsten Unternehmen im Bereich Casual- und Sportswear im deutschsprachigen Raum. Die deutschlandweit über 250 Retail Stores werden sowohl in Eigenregie als auch von Partnern geführt.

Michael Erdmann steuert davon insgesamt rund 60 Geschäfte mit einer Fläche von 100 bis 1.000 Quadratmeter. In seine Tätigkeit bringt Erdmann Erfahrungen aus der Fast Food-Branche mit ein, in der Themen wie eine optimale Personaleinsatzplanung oder auch das Benchmarken von Filialen bzw. Standorten oberste Priorität haben. Auf der Suche nach einem IT-Partner, der ihn bei diesen und weiteren Aufgaben in seinem expandierenden Fashion Business unterstützt, entschied sich Erdmann für SEAK Software. Fragen an den Mode-Manager.

Wie kam der Kontakt zu SEAK Software zustande?

Erdmann: Wir hatten zuvor zwei andere Systeme für Zeiterfassung und Personaleinsatzplanung getestet. Im Internet stießen wir dann auf SEAK und nahmen Kontakt auf. Dann präsentierte man uns die IT-Lösung. Die Entscheidung für SEAK fiel danach leicht. Das lag auch daran, dass ich in der Software meine eigenen Überlegungen zur Optimierung von Einsatzplanung und Zeitwirtschaft wiederfand. Allerdings hatte ich bis dahin nur auf Excel-Basis gearbeitet. SEAK geht viel mehr in die Tiefe, berücksichtigt mehr Details und bietet erheblich bessere Kontrollmöglichkeiten.

Welche Probleme sollten mit SEAK Software gelöst werden?

Erdmann: Im Bereich Zeitwirtschaft wollten wir vor allem mehr Übersichtlichkeit und eine Konformität mit den gesetzlichen Vorgaben erreichen. Die Zeiterfassung und die Integration dieser Daten in den Bereich Lohn + Gehalt war zuvor sehr mühselig. So wurden die Arbeitszeiten durch die Filialleiter manuell erfasst und am Monatsende per Fax an die Zentrale übermittelt. Dieses Verfahren beinhaltete natürlich einige Fehlerquellen und war für alle Beteiligten sehr zeitaufwendig.

Heute werden die Arbeitszeiten von den Mitarbeitern im System elektronisch erfasst und verarbeitet. Die Kontrolle und Korrektur der Buchungen erfolgt durch zwei Instanzen: Filialleiter und Personalbüro. Der Zeitaufwand ist nach einer anfänglichen Gewöhnungsphase minimal. Eine Übermittlung von Daten in Form von Tabellen oder Listen ist nicht mehr erforderlich. SEAK bietet aber mehr: Nämlich Zeiterfassung plus Personaleinsatzplanung aus einem Guss.

Die Stundensalden und die Abwesenheitsdaten, beispielsweise Urlaub oder bei Schulungen, fließen in das Planungsprocedere mit ein. Wir brauchten zunächst etwas Zeit und Geduld, bis wir von den Effizienzvorteilen profitieren konnten, denn die Arbeit mit dem System ist durchaus komplex. Aber mittlerweile ist der Aufwand bei all diesen Prozessen erheblich geringer als zuvor.

CAMP DAVID & SOCCX Filiale | www.seak.de

CAMP DAVID & SOCCX Filiale

Wie haben sich Prozesse und Abläufe dadurch geändert?

Erdmann: SEAK Software ermöglicht schlauere, schnellere und effizientere Prozesse und Abläufe. Keiner der Filialleiter nutzt mehr Papier und Stift für die Einsatzplanung, sondern ausschließlich das SEAK-System. Einsatzplanungen für eine Filiale lassen sich in 20 Minuten abschließen.

Die Abläufe für die Planerstellungen haben wir standardisiert. Indem der Filialleiter jetzt einen strukturierten Ablauf bei der Dienstplanung einhält, spart er ca. 80 bis 90 Prozent Zeit. Die Vorgehensweise sieht so aus:

1. Konsequente Anwendung der Urlaubsplanung über das System. Nach Freigabe durch das Personalbüro ist der Urlaub im System erfasst.

2. Abwesenheitsplanung für freie Tage, Trainingsmaßnahmen etc.

3. Da die Präferenzzeiten, Funktionen und Stundensalden im System vorliegen, kann der Filialleiter nun mit der automatischen Planung den Dienstplan erstellen.

Was läuft mit Blick auf die Zufriedenheit von Mitarbeiter jetzt besser?

Erdmann: Die Produktivität ist nun viel besser planbar, steuerbar und kontrollierbar. Dabei ist es nicht unser Ziel, Kosten einzusparen, sondern zu optimieren, beispielsweise indem an umsatzstarken Tagen in einigen Filialen sogar mehr Personal auf der Fläche ist als zuvor. Die Software trägt auch zu einer wesentlich besseren Kommunikation mit den Filialleitern bei.

Wie sind die Abläufe bei der Einsatzplanung mit der Software von SEAK organisiert?

Erdmann: Ausgangspunkt ist ein Plan-Umsatz, den es für jeden Tag und jede Filiale gibt. Dabei wird zwischen starken und schwachen Tagen unterschieden. Ich mache die Basis-Planung und erstelle eine Art Schablone, die vom Personalbüro mit Angaben zu Urlauben etc. ergänzt und von der Filialleitung ausgefüllt wird. Dabei kann er auch automatisierte Vorschläge der Software nutzen.

Vor der Einführung von SEAK habe ich für jede Filiale Musterdienstpläne erstellt. Das funktionierte natürlich nicht so fein abgestimmt wie mit der SEAK Software. Außerdem konnte ich nur punktuell die Umsetzung kontrollieren und nicht so schnell auf Veränderungen reagieren. Eine Frequenzanalyse war erst mit SEAK möglich.

Gibt es Themen, die Sie nach der Einführung von SEAK mit den Filialleitern differenzierter besprechen können?

Erdmann: Auf jeden Fall. Vieles lässt sich jetzt besser besprechen, weil wir einfach mehr Klarheit haben. Da ist zum Beispiel das Thema der Besetzungsdichte vor Geschäftsöffnung. Hier wurde früher zu sehr „aus dem Bauch“ entschieden und „über den Daumen“ gerechnet. Jetzt ist der Personaleinsatz eindeutig näher am Bedarf. Ein weiteres Thema ist der Samstag als verkaufsstärkster Wochentag.

Indem SEAK uns Zahlen liefert, die im Kontext mit mehreren Faktoren analysiert werden, stellten wir fest, dass wir die Kundenfrequenz und damit das Umsatzpotenzial an Samstagen noch lange nicht ausgeschöpft hatten. Wir haben deshalb an diesen Tagen noch mehr Personalstunden eingesetzt. Anfänglich hatten die Mitarbeiter den Eindruck, die Filiale ist überbesetzt. Allerdings wurde die Maßnahme durch eine Umsatzsteigerung an den verkaufsstarken Tagen bestätigt.

Wie hat sich der Arbeitsalltag Ihrer Mitarbeiter verändert? Was sagt Ihr Team zu den Software-Lösungen von SEAK?

Erdmann: Der Einsatz an den Samstagen ist jetzt wesentlich gerechter verteilt. Das kommt ebenso gut an wie der Überblick über die eigenen Arbeitszeiten per Mausklick. Das System ist wirklich sehr transparent. Deshalb gab es nur anfänglich einen minimalen Wiederstand bei der Einführung von SEAK.

Woran messen Sie den Erfolg Ihrer Investition in die IT-Lösungen von SEAK Software?

Erdmann: SEAK Software ist für Unternehmen unserer Branche eigentlich konkurrenzlos und für unser Unternehmen mittlerweile unverzichtbar. Ich selbst arbeite nur noch mit SEAK, zumal für die Einsatzplanung auch auf Daten aus der Warenwirtschaft oder Kasse zurückgegriffen werden kann.

Welche Auswertungen sehen Sie sich am liebsten an?

Erdmann: Plan/Ist-Vergleiche. Die sind in der SEAK-Lösung einfach besonders übersichtlich abgebildet, bilden eine hervorragende Kommunikationsplattform mit den Filialleitern und dienen der Verbesserung der Planungsqualität.

Sie nutzen auch den Team Performance Monitor (T.P.M.). Diese Software von SEAK hat den Anspruch, Leistungen und Potenziale auf einen Blick erkennbar zu machen, Abteilungen, Regionen zu benchmarken sowie Zielerreichung und Abweichungen darzustellen. Ihr Eindruck?

Erdmann: Die Diagramme des T.P.M. sind optisch sehr gut aufbereitet. Ich nutze das System vor allem für den Überblick über die Entwicklung wichtiger Kennziffern wie Stundenleistung, Teile pro Bon oder Durchschnittsbon sowie für die Ursachenforschung bei markanten Veränderungen und das Erkennen von Potenzialen.

Was leistet der T.P.M. im Kern?

Erdmann: Ein hohes Maß an Übersicht beim Filialvergleich über Entwicklungszeiträume inklusive einer Ampelfunktion. Wir können die Auswertungen optimal auf unsere Bedürfnisse konfigurieren und erkennen beispielsweise mühelos, bei welchen Mitarbeitern etwa die Notwendigkeit von Nachschulungen besteht.

Das SEAK-Prinzip zielt darauf ab, Ziele von Unternehmen und Mitarbeiter mit den Erwartungen der Kunden wie Service, Warenverfügbarkeit und Beratung zu harmonisieren. Spürt man das? Funktioniert das?

Erdmann: Auf jeden Fall. Das System ist darauf angelegt, nicht einfach Kosten zu reduzieren, sondern den Ressourceneinsatz ganzheitlich zu optimieren. Wichtigstes Ziel ist mehr Kundenzufriedenheit. Dass dies funktioniert, lässt sich an den entsprechenden Kennzahlen ablesen.

Wie sind Ihre Erfahrungen mit dem Telefon-Support von SEAK Software?

Erdmann: Sehr gut. Es gibt mittlerweile allerdings nur selten die Notwendigkeit, diesen in Anspruch zu nehmen.

Gibt es so etwas wie einen SEAK-Spirit, den Sie im Kontakt mit Vertrieb, Support, Beratung und Schulung spüren?

Erdmann: Es ist die Begeisterung für das System. Ich teile diese. In einem Gespräch mit der SEAK-Geschäftsführung in Reinbek konnte ich außerdem feststellen, dass man unbedingt an einem Erfahrungsaustausch interessiert und die permanente Verbesserung der Software dort Chefsache ist.

Was hat Sie bei der Anwendung der SEAK-Lösung am meisten überrascht?

Erdmann: Die Komplexität des Systems. Diese spiegelt letztlich aber genau die Komplexität der Prozesse und Zusammenhänge in unserem Business. Das führt dazu, dass man keine weitere IT-Lösung für diesen Sachbereich benötigt.

Welche Pläne haben Sie?

Erdmann: Wir wollen weiter expandieren. SEAK Software unterstützt uns dabei. Deshalb haben wir mittlerweile das System in allen 250 Retail Stores eingeführt.

Wir bedanken uns bei Herrn Michael Erdmann für das Interview. Das Interview wurde von Handelsjournalist Bruno Reiferscheid geführt.

Mehr Informationen zum SEAK System:

Fotos © CLINTON Großhandels-GmbH

Ihr Name *

Firma *

E-Mail *

Ihre Nachricht *


Freiwillige Angaben


Die folgenden Angaben sind freiwillig. Diese Angaben helfen uns, besser auf Ihre Anfrage einzugehen und sie zielgerichtet zu beantworten.


Ich bin an folgenden Themen interessiert:
ZeitwirtschaftPersonaleinsatzplanungMobiler DienstplanPerformance ManagementZutrittskontrolle

Branche

Anzahl MitarbeiterInnen

Anzahl Filialen / Niederlassungen


Wünschen Sie einen Rückruf?


Ja, bitte rufen Sie mich zum folgenden Zeitpunkt an:
HeuteMo.Di.Mi.Do.Fr.VormittagNachmittag

Telefon