“Communication and the flow of information are now much more efficient.” SEAK at Mode Weber (St. Gallen, Switzerland) – Interview with Lukas Weber

Mode Weber St. Gallen | www.seak.de

“Communication and the flow of information are now much more efficient.” SEAK at Mode Weber (St. Gallen, Switzerland) – Interview with Lukas Weber

“Communication and the flow of information are now much more efficient.” SEAK at Mode Weber (St. Gallen, Switzerland) – Interview with Lukas Weber 1000 686 Workforce Management im Handel | SEAK Software GmbH

SEAK’s workforce management, which is used by retailers to control staff scheduling, is not a cold cost-cutting tool, but a system that also integrates the interests of employees. This holistic approach can be felt and experienced in daily work with the SEAK system – says Lukas Weber, fashion retailer from St. Gallen (Switzerland). The entrepreneur also benefits from additional time resources that the system frees up at management level.

Mode Weber is one of the top fashion retailers in Eastern Switzerland. The family business was founded in 1919 by Ernst and Anna Weber. Today, Weber Apparel AG, based in St. Gallen, owns seven multi-label clothing stores with over 150 brands such as Marc Cain, Drykorn, Moncler or Zegna, ten mono-brand stores (franchises) from Marc Cain, Marc O’Polo and Street One (8 ) as well as a shoe shop. “We are very strongly anchored locally, have a high level of advisory competence and offer international fashion that has been specially interpreted and carefully compiled for Switzerland,” says Lukas Weber, member of the management team.

Communication and the flow of information are now much more efficient. For example, we can see much faster than before whether an employee can be swapped from a particular store. It is also easier to enter and save employee requests with regard to working times and free time.

Overall, the transparency is great. All information can be called up quickly and making calls is usually no longer necessary.

Lukas Weber, member of the Mode Weber management team

Weber employs around 220 people (the equivalent of 150 full-time employees) – too many to schedule staff “by hand” fairly, transparently and at the same time in a frequency-oriented manner. Since the end of 2018, Weber has therefore adopted software from SEAK for the areas of time management, staff scheduling and performance analysis. We asked Lukas Weber a few questions about this.

What challenges did you face at the time when you decided to adopt SEAK software?

Lukas Weber: Up until then we had done the staff scheduling for each store manually and were looking for a solution that would make this work easier for us. But at the same time we are aware that there is a general decline in visitor frequencies in brick-and-mortar retail. Hence we face the additional task of reducing the ratio of staff costs to sales. We were therefore also looking for support in this arena as the software can optimize staff scheduling.

How did you get to know SEAK?

Weber: Through friends from the fashion industry. The management consultants from hachmeister + partner also recommended SEAK to us.

Mode Weber | www.seak.de
Mode Weber in St. Gallen, Switzerland

Which processes were changed?

Weber: The process itself is still to have a planner for each store and to carry out the planning process in accordance with the sales plan for each day. But with the SEAK system we can now take almost every detail and relevant aspect into account. It’s very comprehensive.

What’s working out better today than before?

Weber: In the short period of time since the introduction of the SEAK solutions, productivity in staff management and payroll accounting have increased. Relevant information about employees can now be called up in a particularly easy way. In addition, the flow of information at management level has improved significantly.

Who works with IT from SEAK at your company?

Weber: Every multi-label store manager. The same applies to the monobrand stores. But there is also a higher-level HR manager for all stores, who also uses the SEAK solution. There are also the areas of staff management and payroll accounting. We also use SEAK here.

Has your cooperation with the employees who work with SEAK changed? Are there any topics that you have been able to talk about in a more differentiated manner since the introduction of SEAK, or that you are now even addressing for the first time?

Weber: All communication and the flow of information are now much more efficient. For example, we can see much faster than before whether an employee can be swapped from a particular store. It is also easier to enter and save employee requests with regard to working times and free time. Overall, the transparency is great. All information can be called up quickly. Making calls is usually no longer necessary.

How do you measure the success of your investment in SEAK software?

Weber: the investment will be quantitatively assessed against whether it is possible to reduce the staff cost ratio in the medium term. Employee and customer satisfaction will be further aspects to consider. But it is still too early to evaluate. What can already be measured, however, is that the task of staff scheduling has become a lot less time consuming for managers. That has freed up resources at management level.

Are there any reports that you particularly like to check?

Weber: Yes, the evaluations of the performance of the employees and the conversion rate, i.e. the percentage of visitors who buy. I also call up these data from the TPM on my mobile devices. In the future, we want to use this to increasingly compare the services and the individual stores with one another.

Vera and Lukas Weber | www.seak.de
Lukas and Vera Weber (Photo © St. Galler Tagblatt)
Mode Weber | www.seak.de

Staff scheduling à la SEAK should also change the daily work routine for the employees in a positive way. Do you notice that? Do you have positive feedback from your team?

Weber: Yes. The schedules are just more fair now. The transparency ensures that the employees feel comfortable.

SEAK wants to harmonise the goals of companies and employees with the expectations of customers in regard to service and consultations. Does that reflect your experience working with it? Is it successful?

Weber: You can feel very quickly that as a matter of principle SEAK is never solely concerned with reducing costs. Because when working with the software, the appreciation for the employees in sales becomes noticeable. A very human approach.

How do you rate the SEAK support and hotline?

Weber: So far there has hardly been any reason to use the support.

Were there any surprises in working with the SEAK solutions?

Weber: Yes. We always thought we were good planners. But SEAK has shown that there is room for improvement. We had not expected that. It was also surprising how quickly and easily the software solutions were introduced.

What would you consider as “typically SEAK”? I there such as thing as company DNA in software?

Weber: I find SEAK to be extremely analytical. At the beginning it can be a bit tedious to grasp the SEAK system as a whole, because it is so extensive, because SEAK thinks of every detail. But then you realise that otherwise complex planning tasks actually work comparatively easily with the software. That’s typically SEAK.

Are there any wishes that have remained open?

Weber: No. We now have to find the time internally to exhaust the possibilities of the system and further optimise our staff scheduling.

What other plans do you have? Where do you see a need for action?

Weber: SEAK’s software automatically generates suggestions for staff scheduling. We want to take these into account more than we have before. So far we have held back because we want to introduce changes step by step to ensure that our employees accept them. We will also use the TPM as an analysis tool much more intensively in the future. All of this serves the goal of lowering the staff cost ratio.

We would like to thank Lukas Weber from Mode Weber for the interview. The interview was conducted by retail journalist Bruno Reiferscheid.

Read more success stories here >

Photos © Mode Weber, unless otherwise indicated

    Your name *

    Company *

    E-Mail *

    Your message *


    Optional information


    The following information is voluntary. This information helps us to better respond to your request and to answer it in a targeted manner.


    I am interested in the following topics:
    Time ManagementStaffing Requirements PlanningStaff SchedulingMobile Solutions – SEAK TEAMS®Access ControlSEAK MAG 2021 (PDF)

    Sector

    Number of employees

    Number of stores / departments


    Would you like us to call you back?


    Yes, please call me back on the following date:
    TodayMon.Tue.Wed.Thu.Fri.MorningAfternoon

    Telephone

„Man spürt sehr schnell, dass es SEAK aus Prinzip nie ausschließlich um Kostensenkung geht.“ SEAK bei Mode Weber (St. Gallen, Schweiz) – Interview mit Lukas Weber

Mode Weber St. Gallen | www.seak.de

„Man spürt sehr schnell, dass es SEAK aus Prinzip nie ausschließlich um Kostensenkung geht.“ SEAK bei Mode Weber (St. Gallen, Schweiz) – Interview mit Lukas Weber

„Man spürt sehr schnell, dass es SEAK aus Prinzip nie ausschließlich um Kostensenkung geht.“ SEAK bei Mode Weber (St. Gallen, Schweiz) – Interview mit Lukas Weber 1000 686 Workforce Management im Handel | SEAK Software GmbH

Software von SEAK, mit dem der Handel den Personaleinsatz steuert, ist kein kalter Kostenkiller, sondern ein System, das auch die Interessen der Mitarbeiter integriert. Im Umgang mit der Software wird dieser ganzheitliche Ansatz spürbar und erlebbar. Sagt Lukas Weber, Modehändler aus St. Gallen (Schweiz). Der SEAK-Kunde profitiert zudem von zusätzlichen Zeit-Ressourcen, die das System auf Managementebene freisetzt.

Mode Weber gehört in der Ostschweiz zu den Top-Modeanbietern im Handel. Das Familienunternehmen wurde 1919 von Ernst und Anna Weber gegründet. Heute gehören zur Weber Bekleidung AG mit Sitz in St. Gallen sieben Multilabel-Bekleidungsgeschäfte mit über 150 Marken wie Marc Cain, Drykorn, Moncler oder Zegna, zehn Monomarken-Stores (Franchise) von Marc Cain, Marc O’Polo und Street One (8) sowie ein Schuhgeschäft. „Wir sind sehr stark lokal verankert, haben eine hohe Beratungskompetenz und bieten internationale, eigens für die Schweiz interpretierte und sorgfältig zusammengestellte Fashion an“, formuliert Lukas Weber, Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung.

Weber beschäftigt rund 220 Mitarbeiter (umgerechnet 150 Vollzeitkräfte) – zu viele, um den Personaleinsatz „per Hand“ gerecht, transparent und gleichzeitig frequenzorientiert zu planen. Seit Ende 2018 gehört Weber deshalb zu den Anwendern von Software aus dem Hause SEAK für die Bereiche Zeitwirtschaft, Einsatzplanung und Performance Analyse. Fragen an Lukas Weber.

Vor welcher Herausforderung standen Sie zum Zeitpunkt der Entscheidung für SEAK Software?

Lukas Weber: Wir hatten die Einsatzplanung je Standort bis dahin händisch gemacht und suchten eine Lösung, die uns diese Arbeit erleichterte. Fakt ist aber auch, dass im stationären Handel die Frequenz vielerorts rückläufig ist und wir vor der Aufgabe stehen, die Quote der Personalkosten gemessen am Umsatz zu reduzieren. Auch dabei erhofften wir uns Unterstützung, denn die Software soll den Personaleinsatz optimieren.

Wie kam der Kontakt zu SEAK zustande?

Weber: Über Freunde aus der Modebranche. Auch die Unternehmensberater von Hachmeister & Partner empfahlen uns SEAK.

Mode Weber | www.seak.de
Mode Weber in St. Gallen, Schweiz

Welche Prozesse wurden verändert?

Weber: Es gibt nach wie vor einen Planer je Standort und die Planung erfolgt unverändert entsprechend der Umsatzplanung je Tag. Aber das System von SEAK berücksichtigt nahezu jedes Detail und jeden Aspekt. Es ist sehr umfassend.

Was läuft heute besser als zuvor?

Weber: In dem kurzen Zeitraum seit Einführung der SEAK-Lösungen hat sich vor allem die Produktivität im Personalmanagement und in der Lohnbuchhaltung erhöht. Die Informationen zu den Mitarbeitern können jetzt auf besonders einfache Weise abgerufen werden. Zudem hat sich der Informationsfluss auf der Managementebene deutlich verbessert.

Wer arbeitet bei Ihnen mit IT von SEAK?

Weber: Jeder Geschäftsführer der Multilabel-Filialen. Ähnliches gilt für die Monomarken-Stores. Hier gibt es aber noch einen übergeordneten Personalverantwortlichen für alle Stores. Auch dieser nutzt die SEAK-Lösung. Hinzu kommen die Bereiche Personalmanagement und Lohnbuchhaltung. Auch hier wird SEAK eingesetzt.

Hat sich Ihre Zusammenarbeit mit den Mitarbeitern, die mit SEAK arbeiten, verändert? Gibt es jetzt Themen, über die Sie seit SEAK-Einführung differenzierter sprechen können, oder die Sie nun überhaupt zum ersten Mal ansprechen?

Weber: Die ganze Kommunikation und der Informationsfluss sind jetzt wesentlich effizienter. Wir sehen beispielsweise viel schneller als zuvor, ob aus einer bestimmten Filiale ein Mitarbeiter abgezogen werden kann. Auch das Einpflegen und Hinterlegen von Mitarbeiterwünschen bezüglich Einsatzzeiten und Freizeit geht einfacher. Insgesamt ist die Transparenz top. Alle Infos sind schnell abrufbar. Der Griff zum Telefonhörer ist meistens nicht mehr nötig.

Woran messen Sie den Erfolg Ihrer Investition in SEAK-Software?

Weber: Die Investition wird sich quantitativ daran messen lassen müssen, ob es mittelfristig gelingt, die Personalkostenquote zu senken. Mitarbeiter- und Kundenzufriedenheit werden weitere Aspekte sein. Für eine Bewertung ist es aber noch zu früh. Was sich allerdings jetzt schon messen lässt, ist eine Verringerung der Management Attention. Das komplexe Thema „Personaleinsatz“ ist weniger zeitaufwendig. Auf der Leitungsebene sind Ressourcen frei geworden.

Gibt es Auswertungen, die Sie sich besonders gerne ansehen?

Weber: Ja, das sind die Auswertungen zur Performance der Mitarbeiter und zur Conversion Rate, also der Anteil der kaufenden Besucher. Diese Daten aus der Software TPM rufe ich auch auf mobilen Endgeräten ab. Künftig wollen wir damit auch verstärkt die Leistungen und der einzelnen Stores miteinander vergleichen.

Vera und Lukas Weber | www.seak.de
Vera und Lukas Weber (Foto © St. Galler Tagblatt)
Mode Weber | www.seak.de

Einsatzplanung à la SEAK soll auch den Arbeitsalltag für die Mitarbeiter positiv verändern. Fällt Ihnen das auf? Haben Sie eine positive Rückmeldung Ihres Teams?

Weber: Ja. Die Einsatzpläne sind jetzt einfach gerechter. Die Transparenz sorgt dafür, dass sich die Mitarbeiter wohl fühlen.

SEAK will Ziele von Unternehmen und Mitarbeiter mit den Erwartungen der Kunden wie Service und Beratung zu harmonisieren. Spürt man das? Funktioniert das?

Weber: Man spürt sehr schnell, dass es SEAK aus Prinzip nie ausschließlich um Kostensenkung geht. Denn in der Arbeit mit der Software wird die Wertschätzung für die Mitarbeiter im Verkauf spürbar. Ein sehr menschlicher Ansatz.

Wie bewerten Sie den SEAK-Support bzw. die Hotline?

Weber: Es gab bislang kaum Anlass, den Support in Anspruch zu nehmen.

Gab es im Umgang mit den SEAK-Lösungen Überraschungen?

Weber: Ja. Wir hatten uns immer für gute Planer gehalten. Aber SEAK hat gezeigt, dass es Verbesserungspotenzial gibt. Damit hatten wir nicht gerechnet. Überraschend war auch, wie schnell und problemlos die Einführung der Software-Lösungen verlief.

Was würden Sie mit den Worten „Typisch SEAK“ bezeichnen? Gibt es so etwas wie eine DNA der Software?

Weber: Ich empfinde SEAK als extrem analytisch. Zu Beginn kann es etwas mühsam sein, das SEAK-System im Ganzen zu erfassen, weil es so umfangreich ist, denn die von SEAK denken an jedes Detail. Dann jedoch stellt man fest, dass komplexe Planungsaufgaben vergleichsweise einfach funktionieren. Das ist typisch SEAK.

Gibt es Wünsche, die offen geblieben sind?

Weber: Nein. Wir müssen jetzt intern die Zeit aufbringen, die Möglichkeiten des Systems auszuschöpfen und unsere Einsatzplanung weiter optimieren.

Welche weiteren Pläne haben Sie? Wo sehen Sie Handlungsbedarf?

Weber: Die Software von SEAK generiert automatisch Vorschläge für den Personaleinsatz. Diese wollen wir stärker als bisher berücksichtigen. Bislang haben wir uns damit zurückgehalten, denn wir wollen Veränderungen Schritt für Schritt einführen, um die Akzeptanz der Mitarbeiter zu sichern. Wir werden außerdem den TPM als Analyse-Tool noch weitaus intensiver nutzen als bisher. All dies dient dem Ziel, die Personalkostenquote zu senken.

Wir bedanken uns bei Herrn Lukas Weber von Mode Weber für das Interview. Das Interview wurde von Handelsjournalist Bruno Reiferscheid geführt.

Mehr Informationen für Sie:

Fotos © Mode Weber, wenn nicht anders gekennzeichnet

Ihr Name *

Firma *

E-Mail *

Ihre Nachricht *


Freiwillige Angaben


Die folgenden Angaben sind freiwillig. Diese Angaben helfen uns, besser auf Ihre Anfrage einzugehen und sie zielgerichtet zu beantworten.


Ich bin an folgenden Themen interessiert:
ZeitwirtschaftPersonalbedarfsplanungPersonaleinsatzplanungMitarbeiter Service Portal (MSP)Mobiler Dienstplan (MDP)Team Performance Monitor (TPM)Zutrittskontrolle

Branche

Anzahl MitarbeiterInnen

Anzahl Filialen / Niederlassungen


Wünschen Sie einen Rückruf?


Ja, bitte rufen Sie mich zum folgenden Zeitpunkt an:
HeuteMo.Di.Mi.Do.Fr.VormittagNachmittag

Telefon