„This software is compatible with our DNA.” SEAK at L & T – an interview with HR manager Daniel Wessel

L&T Hasewelle | www.seak.de

„This software is compatible with our DNA.” SEAK at L & T – an interview with HR manager Daniel Wessel

„This software is compatible with our DNA.” SEAK at L & T – an interview with HR manager Daniel Wessel 1000 750 Workforce Management im Handel | SEAK Software GmbH

L&T, Lengermann & Trieschmann, is a top address in German fashion retail. Insights and actions generated here in Osnabrück tend to attract the attention of the wider German retail sector. L&T has approximately 630 employees.

The company is especially keen to attract “responsible employees who actively use available opportunities for participation”, says the Head of HR Daniel Wessel. This particularly applies to questions related to staff scheduling.

“Employee trust has grown noticeably. They feel taken seriously because they can easily and effectively communicate with us and integrate their wishes, as well as partially manage and take care of any concerns themselves.”

Daniel Wessel, HR manager L&T

L&T uses the Employee Service Portal (ESP), a solution that allows employees to enter or edit holiday applications, forgotten bookings, requests for time balance sheets or holiday status, and more, all online.

The web-based ESP was developed by SEAK Software, headquartered in Reinbek, as an employee self-service application for greater efficiency and employer attractiveness in retail. Employees can enter their own holiday requests, booking corrections and so on, for example, via their smartphones. The requests are approved by the manager and then automatically transferred to time management.

Daniel Wessel, Head of Human Resources at L&T, concludes: “The ESP enables self-organisation for our employees and thus fits perfectly with our company philosophy.”

Daniel Wessel | www.seak.de
Daniel Wessel, HR manager L&T
L&T Modehaus | www.seak.de
L&T Fashion House

Last but not least, the software helps to position L&T as a leading employer through incorporating modern technology, allowing for and encouraging participation, and by making planning processes transparent. “Employee trust has grown noticeably. They feel taken seriously because they can easily and effectively communicate with us and integrate their wishes as well as partially manage and take care of any concerns themselves.” According to employees, the tool’s most attractive feature is that it can be accessed from anywhere.

The ESP covers the following areas:
• Time recording
• Submitting requests
• Additional individual information (including the annual performance overview)
• Features relevant for staff scheduling (preferred working hours, actual working hours)
• Approval workflow for processing requests
• The ability to record reasons for decisions and
• to check the status of any submitted request

The portal is embedded in L&T’s staff scheduling application, which has been using SEAKproHR since autumn 2016. We asked the L&T Head of HR a few questions.

How did you decide to go for the SEAK IT solution?

Daniel Wessel: We looked at three systems. The decisive factor was the recommendation of a SEAK reference customer whom we know personally.

What sort of problems were you aiming to address by implementing SEAK software?

Wessel: Before implementing SEAK, we had to match employees for each shift individually, taking into account any specific restrictions or requirements on both sides. Each work shift needs to be staffed as well as possible in accordance with the type and time of day, as well as various other requirements. Now, we only need to ensure that each shift is manned with the optimal number of people.

Our staff scheduling is based on our needs. We could really shift our focus to planned sales. When making rough annual plans, we take into account hourly and staffing requirements over the course of the year, as well as considering seasonal fluctuations.

For the monthly plan, the system automatically makes suggestions for staffing all shifts, taking into account qualifications and functions of each employee. Making adjustments to the plan is really easy as well.

At what levels in the hierarchy is the software used?

Wessel: Beginning at HR management level, and downstream of that, it is also used by our three HR officers and finally at the level of team lead. There are 52 team leads who are each responsible for a planning zone and therefore cost centre.

What is working better now?

Wessel: Our employees are much happier. This is due to the fairer work schedules, as the software makes it particularly easy to assess fairness in this regard.

Have the contents of your communication with employees changed? Are there any topics that you are now able to discuss with them in a more differentiated manner since introducing SEAK?

Wessel: We can communicate the planned turnover as a driver of demand much more clearly and consistently than before.

Regarding the human element – how would you characterise working with the SEAK teams for sales, support, consulting and training?

Wessel: We receive swift support when we need it. It is my impression that the SEAK team is seriously invested in helping their customers in with any concern, which is something we do not take for granted. Fortunately, they also share our northern German humour.

L&T inner court | www.seak.de
The inner court at the L&T fashion house

Were you surprised by anything in your IT partnership with SEAK?

Wessel: Yes, the coherence and comprehensiveness with which the system implementation is carried out right through to specialised trainings.

Is there anything else you would like to see from SEAK in the future?

Wessel: The Employee Service Portal should definitely be developed further. In its approach it fits perfectly into our L&T DNA. We have also experimented with teams planning themselves, which did not work out well. However, we really appreciate software that supports the active participation of our employees, so we’d like to see even more of that.

Looking to the future: what are your further plans and ideas on the topic of staff scheduling?

Wessel: Many of our customers integrate a trip to L&T as part of their leisure time more and more often. As a result, Saturdays are becoming more important for sales. We need to account for this development more as we carry out our staff scheduling. Further, we will improve the quality control of our plans.

L&T Sports House | www.seak.de
L&T Sports House

About L&T

The company, founded in 1910, now has over 20,000 square meters of retail space, making it not only the largest fashion store in northern Germany, but also one of the largest owner-operated fashion stores in Europe. Their range includes around 500 brands, 120 of which are offered in specifically branded areas (shop-in-the-shop). The company also has two specialist clothing stores for larger sizes, a sneaker shop, a sports house, the “market hall” with gastronomy and a range of delicatessen, as well as an outlet. Openness to new trends, warmth in dealing with customers, and being grounded in regional traditions are values that are felt strongly in Lower Saxony.

We would like to thank Head of HR, Daniel Wessel for his time. This interview was conducted by retail journalist Bruno Reiferscheid.

Read more success stories here >

Photos © Lengermann & Trieschmann

    Your name *

    Company *

    E-Mail *

    Your message *


    Optional information


    The following information is voluntary. This information helps us to better respond to your request and to answer it in a targeted manner.


    I am interested in the following topics:
    Time ManagementStaffing Requirements PlanningStaff SchedulingMobile Solutions – SEAK TEAMS®Access ControlSEAK MAG 2021 (PDF)

    Sector

    Number of employees

    Number of stores / departments


    Would you like us to call you back?


    Yes, please call me back on the following date:
    TodayMon.Tue.Wed.Thu.Fri.MorningAfternoon

    Telephone

„Die Software passt zu unserer DNA.“ SEAK bei Lengermann & Trieschmann – Interview mit Personalleiter Daniel Wessel

L&T Hasewelle | www.seak.de

„Die Software passt zu unserer DNA.“ SEAK bei Lengermann & Trieschmann – Interview mit Personalleiter Daniel Wessel

„Die Software passt zu unserer DNA.“ SEAK bei Lengermann & Trieschmann – Interview mit Personalleiter Daniel Wessel 1000 750 Workforce Management im Handel | SEAK Software GmbH

L&T, Lengermann & Trieschmann, zählt zu den Top-Adressen des deutschen Modehandels. Was hier in Osnabrück gedacht, gesagt und getan wird, findet meist branchenweit Beachtung. L&T beschäftigt rund 630 Mitarbeiter.

Bemerkenswert: Man wünscht sich „keine Lämmchen, sondern mündige Mitarbeiter, die die Möglichkeiten zur Mitbestimmung aktiv nutzen“, formuliert Personalleiter Daniel Wessel. Das gilt auch und gerade bei Fragen rund um die Personaleinsatzplanung.

„Das Vertrauen der Mitarbeiter ist spürbar gewachsen. Sie fühlen sich ernst genommen, weil sie ihre eigenen Wünsche auf einfache Weise miteinbringen können und ihre Anliegen zum Teil selbst verwalten und erledigen können.“

Daniel Wessel, Personalleiter L&T

Bei L&T kommt das Mitarbeiter Service Portal (MSP) zum Einsatz, eine Lösung, die es den Angestellten erlaubt, Urlaubsanträge, vergessene Buchungen, Nachfragen nach Zeitsaldo oder Urlaubsstand etc. selber online zu initiieren bzw. zu bearbeiten.

Das webbasierte MSP wurde von SEAK Software, Reinbek, als sogenannter Employee Self Service für mehr Effizienz und Arbeitgeberattraktivität im Handel entwickelt. Urlaubsanträge, Buchungskorrekturen etc. können von den Mitarbeitern selbst erfasst werden – zum Beispiel auch per Smartphone. Die Anträge werden vom Vorgesetzten genehmigt und anschließend automatisch in die Zeitwirtschaft übernommen.

Dazu Daniel Wessel, Personalchef bei L&T: „Das MSP ist ein Tool zur Selbstorganisation der Mitarbeiter und passt damit exakt zu unserer Firmenphilosophie.“

Daniel Wessel | www.seak.de
Daniel Wessel, Personalleiter L&T
L&T Modehaus | www.seak.de
L&T Modehaus

Nicht zuletzt trägt die Software dazu bei, L&T als Arbeitgeber zu positionieren, der technisch „vorneweg“ ist, Mitbestimmung zulässt und fördert und Planungsprozesse transparent gestaltet. „Das Vertrauen der Mitarbeiter ist spürbar gewachsen. Sie fühlen sich ernst genommen, weil sie ihre eigenen Wünsche auf einfache Weise miteinbringen können und ihre Anliegen zum Teil selbst verwalten und erledigen können.“ Speziell die Möglichkeit, auf das MSP ortsunabhängig zugreifen zu können, mache das Tool aus Mitarbeitersicht so attraktiv.

Das MSP umfasst die Bereiche
• Zeiterfassung
• Anträge
• Individuelle Zusatzinformation (u.a. Mitarbeiterjahresübersicht)
• Funktionen für die Einsatzplanung (Präferenzzeiten, Dienstzeiten)
• Genehmigungs-Workflow für die Bearbeitung von Anträgen
• Hinterlegung von Begründungen und
• Status von Anträgen

Das Portal ist eingebettet in die Personaleinsatzplanung von L&T, für die seit Herbst 2016 die Software SEAKproHR genutzt wird. Fragen an den L&T-Personalchef.

Wie kam es zu der Entscheidung für die IT-Lösung von SEAK?

Daniel Wessel: Wir haben uns drei Systeme angesehen. Ausschlaggebend war die Empfehlung eines SEAK-Referenzkunden, der uns persönlich bekannt war.

Welche Probleme sollten mit SEAK Software gelöst werden?

Wessel: Vor dem Einsatz dieser Software suchten wir für jeden Mitarbeiter eine Schicht. Jetzt suchen wir für jede Schicht, also einen Einsatzzeitraum mit bestimmten Umsatzerwartungen, die entsprechende Zahl an Mitarbeitern. Unsere Einsatzplanung ist deutlich bedarfsorientierter geworden. Der Planumsatz ist jetzt die entscheidende Größe. Wir berücksichtigen bei der Jahresgrobplanung Stunden- und Personalbedarf im Jahresverlauf unter Berücksichtigung der saisonalen Schwankungen. Innerhalb der Monatsplanung macht das System automatisch Vorschläge zum Personaleinsatz und berücksichtigt dabei Qualifikationen und Funktionen der Mitarbeiter. Die Anpassung der Planung einfach.

Auf welchen Hierarchieebenen wird mit der Software gearbeitet?

Wessel: Zunächst auf Personalleitungsebene, darunter auf der Ebene der drei Personalreferenten und schließlich auf der Ebene der Teamleiter. Es gibt 52 Teamleiter, die eine Planungszone und damit eine Kostenstelle verantworten.

Was läuft jetzt besser?

Wessel: Die Mitarbeiter sind wesentlich zufriedener. Das liegt an den gerechteren Einsatzzeiten. Denn die Software macht Gerechtigkeitsanalysen besonders leicht.

Haben sich die Inhalte Ihrer Kommunikation mit den Mitarbeitern verändert? Gibt es jetzt Themen, über die Sie seit SEAK-Einführung differenzierter sprechen können?

Wessel: Wir können jetzt wesentlich konsequenter als zuvor den Planumsatz als Bedarfstreiber kommunizieren.

Der Faktor Mensch – was macht die Zusammenarbeit mit dem SEAK-Team aus Vertrieb, Support, Beratung, Schulung aus?

Wessel: Man unterstützt uns zügig, wenn’s brennt. Mein Eindruck ist, dass das SEAK-Team ein ernsthaftes Interesse hat, in allen Kundenanliegen zu helfen. Das ist nicht selbstverständlich. Erfreulicherweise teilen sie außerdem unseren norddeutschen Humor.

L&T Lichthof | www.seak.de
Der Lichthof im L&T Modehaus

Hat Sie in der IT-Partnerschaft mit SEAK etwas überrascht?

Wessel: Ja, die Konsequenz bei der Implementierung des Systems bis hin zu Spezialschulungen.

Was wünschen Sie sich außerdem von SEAK?

Wessel: Das Mitarbeiter Service Portal sollte unbedingt noch weiterentwickelt werden. Es passt vom Ansatz her ideal zur DNA von L&T. Es hat bei uns schon einmal ein Experiment gegeben, bei dem sich eine Abteilung selbst plante. Das hatte nicht funktioniert. Aber eine Software, die die Beteiligung der Mitarbeiter unterstützt und einfach macht, ist absolut wünschenswert. Bitte mehr davon.

Blick nach vorn: Welche Pläne rund um das Thema Personaleinsatzplanung verfolgen Sie?

Wessel: Ein Besuch von L&T ist für viele Kunden immer mehr Teil ihrer Freizeitgestaltung. Deshalb werden die Samstage als Verkaufstag immer wichtiger. Das müssen wir noch stärker als bisher bei der Einsatzplanung berücksichtigen. Außerdem werden wir künftig die Qualität unserer eigenen Planung noch besser kontrollieren als bisher.

L&T Sporthaus | www.seak.de
L&T Sporthaus

Über L&T

Das 1910 gegründete Unternehmen verfügt heute über 20.000 Quadratmeter Verkaufsfläche und ist damit nicht nur das größte Modehaus Norddeutschlands, sondern eines der größten inhabergeführten Modehäuser Europas. Zum Sortiment zählen rund 500 Modemarken, von denen 120 auf Markenflächen (Shop-in-the-shop) angeboten werden. Zum Unternehmen gehören außerdem zwei Fachgeschäfte für Bekleidung in großen Größen, ein Sneaker-Shop, ein Sporthaus, die „Markthalle“ mit Gastronomie- und Feinkostangeboten sowie ein Outlet. Offenheit für neue Trends, Herzlichkeit im Umgang mit den Kunden, Verankerung in Stadt und Region gehören zu den Werten der Niedersachsen.

Wir bedanken uns bei Personalleiter Daniel Wessel für das Interview. Das Interview wurde von Handelsjournalist Bruno Reiferscheid geführt.

Mehr Informationen für Sie:

Fotos © Lengermann & Trieschmann

Ihr Name *

Firma *

E-Mail *

Ihre Nachricht *


Freiwillige Angaben


Die folgenden Angaben sind freiwillig. Diese Angaben helfen uns, besser auf Ihre Anfrage einzugehen und sie zielgerichtet zu beantworten.


Ich bin an folgenden Themen interessiert:
ZeitwirtschaftPersonalbedarfsplanungPersonaleinsatzplanungMitarbeiter Service Portal (MSP)Mobiler Dienstplan (MDP)Team Performance Monitor (TPM)Zutrittskontrolle

Branche

Anzahl MitarbeiterInnen

Anzahl Filialen / Niederlassungen


Wünschen Sie einen Rückruf?


Ja, bitte rufen Sie mich zum folgenden Zeitpunkt an:
HeuteMo.Di.Mi.Do.Fr.VormittagNachmittag

Telefon